Skip to main content

State Assessments

STAAR (State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness) began in the 2011-2012 school year and replaced TAKS (Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills). STAAR is administered to students in grades 3 through 8 and to students taking high school level courses in Algebra I, Biology, English I, English II, and U.S. History. The assessments are based on the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) in the areas of reading, writing, mathematics, science, and social studies. 

The STAAR is available in a variety of formats to serve students who are in the general education program, the special education program, or who are English language learners. 

Students will receive annual state assessments in the following grades and content areas:


Grade 3: reading and mathematics
Grade 4: reading and mathematics
Grade 5: reading, mathematics, and science
Grade 6: reading and mathematics
Grade 7: reading and mathematics
Grade 8: reading, mathematics, science, and social studies
Grade 9: End of Course (EOC) Algebra I, Biology, and English I
Grade 10: End of Course (EOC) English II
Grade 11: End of Course (EOC) US History